Enoch depicted in Figures de la Bible (1728), illustrated by Gerard Hoet. Wikimedia
Rediscovering a Forgotten Biblical Figure
Zoom Webinar: “Reclaiming Enoch”



Greetings!


We are excited to invite you to the Sherwin Center's second webinar event, featuring author and historian Rabbi Dr. Juan Bejarano-Gutierrez. Dr. Gutierrez, a mentee of Byron Sherwin, will teach about the Biblical figure of Enoch, an ancestor of Noah who lived seven generations after
Adam. Enoch (Hebrew חֲנוֹךְ) appears only briefly in Genesis (chap. 5: 21-24) yet he is a central figure in ancient Judaism and in Christianity. Today, however, he is all but forgotten to most Jews.

Zoom Webinar Event:

Reclaiming Enoch: Rediscovering His Importance in Ancient Judaism and Early Rabbinic Thought.

The importance of the biblical figure of Enoch is increasingly clear to scholars of the Second Temple Period. Many Jews are unaware, however, of his significance in ancient Judaism and the transformation of this figure in later rabbinic thought. This lecture seeks to rediscover this fascinating Jewish tradition.
About Rabbi Dr. Juan Bejarano-Gutierrez

Rabbi Dr. Juan Marcos Bejarano Gutierrez earned a bachelor of science degree in electrical engineering. He received a Master Degree in Judaic Studies at Siegal College. He completed his doctorate in Jewish Studies at the Spertus Institute. He received rabbinic ordination in 2011 from Yeshivat Mesilat Yesharim. He is the rabbi of Chavurah Zohar Yisrael outside of Dallas.
Event Info
The event will take place on Thursday, July 15th, at:
5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST

Register for the Webinar

To register for the webinar and recieve a Zoom link, click here:

We look forward to seeing you at the event, and to continuing to keep you updated on our work as we move forward with launching the Byron Sherwin Online Learning Center and Institute.